Skip to content

INTRODUCTION: An Interview with Katy Compton

August 22, 2013

Katy ComptonQ: When did you first start singing? Has music always been a part of your life?
KC: I can’t remember much of life before singing! I have extensive home video evidence to prove that I have loved making up crazy songs and dances pretty much forever. I also grew up attending a church where the whole congregation sings hymns a capella, which got me singing from an early age.

Q: When did you realize you had a gift for singing?
KC: In fifth grade I tried out for the school musical, Scrooge. I had just started taking voice lessons a few months prior to the audition, and as I sang I felt incredibly confident. Looking back, I think something about it just felt right, like I was doing what I should be doing. To this day, I recognize that same feeling of confidence at times when I sing, and seek opportunities where I know I will experience it. That’s when I know I’m truly using the gifts God has given me.

Q: Where did you study music?
KC: I studied general music at Florida College, a school that had around 500 students. The small size meant I got a lot of performing opportunities, which was invaluable. A couple of years later I got my Master’s in voice from Florida State University.

Q: When did you decide to become a professional singer?
KC: That decision has been a slow one for me. I think I really decided to go for it during the second year of my M.M. I had the opportunity to perform one of my dream roles, Helena in Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. That experience really got me excited about singing opera, and through that and encouragement from some wonderful teachers, I began to think a lot more seriously about performing.

Katy Compton in "The Music Man"

Katy Compton (and sister) in a 1993 production of “The Music Man”

Q: Did you grow up in a musical family? Does anyone else in your family perform?
KC: My family loves to sing, and I remember weeknights when we’d sit together and sing hymns before bed. My mom was a cellist and initially studied music in college, but gave it up when she encountered college music theory! My younger sister has a beautiful voice, and we grew up having a blast performing together in voice recitals, show choir, and community theatre musicals.

Q: What is your biggest accomplishment to date?
KC: I don’t know about big accomplishments, but I am proud to say I just finished singing the role of Pamina in The Magic Flute with American Chamber Opera! It was a wonderful learning experience, and I feel blessed to have gotten to know this beautiful opera so much better.

Q: Where is your favorite place you have performed and why?
KC: My hometown has a beautiful Chautauqua building that was built in 1902. At age eight I began performing in community theatre productions there, which continued through high school. I learned so much and made some of my best performing memories there.

Q: Is there an opera you have not performed and would like to star in?
KC: I haven’t done Le nozze di Figaro yet, and I would love the chance to sing both Susanna and the Countess. Not in the same production, of course! But I do hope to have the chance to sing at least one of these roles in my career.

Q: What types of music do you like to listen to besides classical? Who are some of your favorite non-opera artists/bands?
KC: I’m a die-hard Beatles and Simon and Garfunkel fan. I’ve been known to crazily wail ABBA tunes. And I couldn’t live without some country every once in awhile. Some of my favorites are Miranda Lambert, Brad Paisley, and the Dixie Chicks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2013 1:25 pm

    Katy filled our home with music from the very start. She never tired of listening to me sing to her and knew the numbers of favorite hymns before she turned 2. Our home was filled with the harmony of Jennifer (her sister) and Katy. One would sing and the other would harmonize. Music is truly the language of Katy’s world, and what a beautiful language.From your second biggest fan ever. ❤

  2. Rachel D Smith permalink
    September 12, 2013 11:47 am

    I have been lucky enough to have known Katy for most of my youth, she is such a warm and genuine person who lives and breathes music. It’s wonderful to see that she is living her passions.

Leave a Reply

